*giving thanks

I haven’t spent Thanksgiving Day with my parents since 2010! This year I will see them, but our day will be spent with Daniel’s dad and his family. I’m not mad or sad. I have spent a lot of time with my family since moving back in May. Daniel’s dad, Bill, and his wife, Roxanne moved to Florida shortly after we moved to California. Daniel has seen his dad maybe 5 times in the last three years, so he definitely deserves this time. Daniel’s aunt, Melissa, and uncle, Bob, will be hosting it this year in their home in Carmel. It’s a beautiful home and will definitely fit our large family! (pictured below is our siblings, parents, and grandparents)

270324_2062290994452_7732189_n

 

My parents and I started a tradition when we moved back. We share at least one meal a week together. We were having dinner together on Fridays, but just recently changed it to Sundays as a late lunch/ early dinner. But there are weeks where we get together for two or more meals. I like having lunch with my mom or dad on days they are off so I don’t have to eat by myself. We also take turns on who is cooking.

10705213_10203866167632168_1539751008_n

We all know Thanksgiving Day was originally to celebrate those who risked their lives moving to an unknown land for religious freedom. Today we use it to remind ourselves how precious life is and that we can’t take it for granted, but shouldn’t we celebrate being thankful on a daily basis?

Things I am thankful for on a daily basis:

*My Husband (he’s the best cuddle partner when life gets rough)

*My Dog (he’s always so excited to see me)

*Having a Job (it pays the bills)

*My Family (trusting, loyal, fun times, we create our own traditions)

*My Friends (for more fun)

*A Garage (definitely with winter’s early arrival)

 

Whenever you are feeling down, remember all the things you have to be thankful for. Give yourself more things to be thankful for, the small things count! Being thankful for something daily can help you to live a wonderful life!

 

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter the words, but to live by them.” ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

 

Please share your thoughts!*

