*salvation army

Thanksgiving is over and the Christmas season is in full throttle! That means a volunteer from the Salvation Army is standing next to every entrance of what seems likes every shop. We put our head down and think, please don’t see me, as we quickly walk past them.

30bb76dd-9b2d-4660-b91d-c162c1bc64e3_christmas

This year, I’m not going to do that. Although my husband and I live paycheck to paycheck, we still have an incredible life! Through out the year whenever we have spare change from our pockets we put it into a mason jar and it just sits there. I feel too busy to spend the time wrapping the coins to take to the bank. I also do not want to take the coins to the counting machine because they make too much of a profit. I have decided to make them Christmas coins.

I will put the coins in a  Ziplock bag in each of our cars with the coins. Every time we are out and see a Salvation Army volunteer we have some money to give them. Maybe my $20 in coins won’t make a big difference, but its better then not giving anything at all.

I suggest you keep some coins on you at all times during the holiday season. All of those coins will add up and we can make a difference!

 

“Christmas is a necessity. There has to be at least one day of the year to remind us that we’re here for something else besides ourselves.” ~Eric Sevareid

 

 

(Above picture found on the Salvation Army’s website)

Please share your thoughts!*

