*finishing college

Today I received acceptance into Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) to finish my bachelor degree with Indiana University in Tourism, Conventions and Event Management! I received an associate degree of Hospitality Administration from Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana in 2011.

IMG_1996

I have always felt embarrassed to say Ivy Tech when someone asks me where I went to school. I’m not proud of that at all. It’s a great school, don’t get me wrong! I learned a lot in the courses and the teachers actually had years of experience in the fields that they were teaching. But I also planned on getting a four year degree. I had bigger plans for myself.

It’s funny how life doesn’t work out like you plan. I skated through high school, getting a few As, mainly Bs, and a decent amount of Cs. I kept my GPA a 3.0, knowing that was enough to get me to a university. I wasn’t one of those students that had a certain university in mind. Some of my friends were dead set on Indiana University, others were interested in Purdue or Ball State. But when I met Daniel my junior year, I wanted to go out of state. I wanted to become a grown up and make new friends. I applied to around 10 small Christian Universities around the country. In May (yes graduation month) I applied to Indiana State University, in smelly Terre Haute, Indiana. I was very unhappy there and my grades showed it! I was put on academic probation for the second semester. Luckily I took some easier classes and made the dean’s list. But there was no way I was going to continue there, so I moved to California to live with Daniel. That didn’t last long and my parents said they would pay for me to go to Ivy Tech to get an associates. I didn’t want to be there, but I know how important an education can be. I made the Dean’s list a few times.

I finished at Ivy Tech over three years ago, and in three and a half years I will be thirty! I want to say I have a degree from an university I will be proud of by the time I’m thirty! So wish me luck that I can stay focus and really study to get the good grades I know I am capable of!

(pictured below is my parents and me the night of my high school graduation)

196671_1002818508302_802_n

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” ~Dr Seuss

Please share your thoughts!*

