*my childhood love, princess

I can’t believe it has been four years since I lost my childhood dog, Princess. We adopted her in the fall of 1996 after she had to spend the entire summer tied up outside. I remember the first time we met her at a Sheltie Rescue’s home, she jumped up on the couch and gave Ashley (my younger sister) a big kiss!

Most of my childhood memories include Princess, she watched over us as we played outside,  inside, and even got to go on a few trips with us! She loved chasing us when we would take her sledding!

IMG_1972

I taught her how to play hide and seek! I would tell her to sit and run into another room, then tell her to come find me! Princess was also always around to cuddle with, definitely when I was feeling sad. When we got a bunny, she loved him! They became good pals!

I didn’t take her death very well, I was heart broken. I luckily got to see her on her last day (I wasn’t living at home at the time). It was a spur of the moment decision to stop by the house after eating dinner with my dad, we found her in the kitchen floor and she couldn’t get up. My dad put her in the car to take her to the vet, she was old, so they decided the best thing to do was put her down. I waited to officially find out after my class was over, I cried the entire hour ride to my apartment. Came home and cried myself to sleep, and spent the next few days crying. Christmas was only a few weeks later and it was definitely difficult. She loved sitting with us while we opened Christmas gifts.

72022_1616608212661_2280213_n

She loved getting her picture taken, here are some of my favorite pictures that I put on Facebook! I hope many children get to experience a love of an animal. Princess was one of the kindest, very smart, and always lovable. She was a member of our family and will never be forgotten!

189997_1002818468301_347_n IMG_1976

Shelties can be a great addition to your family, please check to see if a sheltie rescue group is near you! If you are in Indiana check out this link: http://www.sheltie-rescue.org.

 

“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.”~ Roger A. Caras

Please share your thoughts!*

