*baking girl

581772_10201685721042366_591229144_n

(pictured above is from Halloween 2013 when I brought homemade goodies to work)

I grew up with two parents who more than most, cooked a homemade meal for dinner. We rarely ate out. Some dinners were as simple as spaghetti, while at holidays my mom pulled at all the stops. Freshly made meat, with too many sides, and of course homemade desserts. I had two parents that were great cooks, so why did I need to learn?

During my time at Ivy Tech in Indianapolis, I was required to take an introduction to cooking class. The classes were 4 hours once a week. The first day of class, the teacher talked about all the supplies we needed. The text book was very thick, we were required to wear a full professional chef uniform, and have a $500 knife kit! I was extremely overwhelmed, I dropped the class as soon as I got home! I waited to take it my last semester in Muncie and I’m so thankful that I did! My teacher was very understanding that we were required to take the class. I got to try cheeses, cook scallops, watch a lobster die, and try food I normally wouldn’t. It was a great experience!

The first few months of living in California, prior to having a job, I started baking cupcakes for Daniel to take to his internship. It gave me a creative outlet and it tasted good! Everytime someone came to visit me I made a dessert to welcome them! More baking started when I went to work at Marriott’s Newport Coast Villas. My co-workers loved my goodies! In December 2013 I sold a two pound cheese ball for $15 to a co-worker so he could take to a family holiday party!

10616214_301569610037938_7087518638868604384_n 10710882_298765000318399_2247818111787470187_n

I really enjoy baking more then cooking. I love sugar! I’m surprised I’m not 200 pounds with all the desserts I make! In California, I started experimenting with box cupcake mixes and adding alcohol! I make a really tasty Fireball Whisky Cupcake and Amaretto Sour Cupcake. I just found out that my Box Baking Blog, where I posted the recipes, has been visited over 10,000 times, thanks to Pinterest!

I thought I would try to earn some extra cash this holiday season by selling some homemade goodies. I even have a website (www.ambersholidaybakesale.wordpress.com) and paid $10 for business cards, which my dad was nice enough to pass out. I didn’t get as many orders as I hoped, but I did have fun!

(pictured below is homemade peppermint Oreo white chocolate cookies)

10858348_10204462061769149_7382652414340768388_n

“Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless and above all have fun!” ~Julia Child

Please share your thoughts!*

